Listen > Apocalypse Mixtape

Episode 6 - Jeffly Gabriela Molina
Episode 6 - Jeffly Gabriela Molina
May 02, 2020

In this episode of Phillip Barcio's Apocalypse Mixtape, Venezuela-born artist Jeffly Gabriela Molina shares her thoughts on the idea of apocalypse, along with the songs she'd put on her Apocalypse Mixtape. The figures in Jeffly's uncanny compositions evoke the most precious aspect of solitude: that it cannot be shared. Jeffly earned her MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Recent exhibitions include Suspiro, at Kavi Gupta, and Please Touch: Body Boundaries, at Mana Contemporary, Jersey City.

Songs in this episode:

(Opening) Love Theme (Emmeline), from The Blue Lagoon, by Basil Poledouris
1. Tonada de Luna Llena, by Simon Diaz
2. The Man in the Station, by John Martyn
3. Sea of Love, by Cat Power
4. I See a Darkness, by Bonnie Prince Billy
5. Imitosis, by Andrew Bird
6. Gallo Rojo, Gallo Negro, by Sílvia Pérez Cruz
7. Anyhow, I love you, by Guy Clark
8. Magic orchestrated version, by Nick Drake
9. Mariposa Tecknicolor, by Fito Páez
10. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall, by Bob Dylan
11. I wish I was, by The Avett Brothers
12. People I’ve been sad, by Christine and the Queens
13. La Wally, Act I: Ebben? Ne andro lontana, by Alfredo Catalani, Miriam Gauci, Belgian Radio, and Television Philharmonic