Listen > Apocalypse Mixtape

Episode 9 - Jessica Snow
Episode 9 - Jessica Snow
May 23, 2020

In this episode of Phillip Barcio's Apocalypse Mixtape, artist Jessica Snow contemplates the word apocalypse and shares the songs she would put on her Apocalypse Mixtape. An Artadia Award winner, Jessica teaches painting, drawing and art appreciation at the University of San Francisco, and has served as an Artist-Ambassador for the United States Department of State to Uruguay. Her hard-edged abstract works explore the compositional possibilities of color and geometry and the relationship between positive and negative space. Jessica's recent exhibitions include ‘Badass Color’ at Le Pavé d’Orsay in Paris and The 5th International Biennale of Non-Objective Art in Pont de Claix, France. She is represented by Galleri Urbane, Jen Bekman Gallery, and IdeelArt.

Songs in this episode:

(Opening) Boulevard Of Broken Dreams, by Green Day
1. Hawa, by Agricantus
2. Sénégal Fast Food, by Amadou and Mariam
3. O Leãozinho, by Caetano Veloso & Maria Gadu
4. Águas De Março, by Elis Regina and Tom Jobim
5. Let’s Leave this Town, by Chip Taylor and Carrie Rodriguez
6. One, by Mary J Blige and U2
7. Midnight Train to Georgia, by Gladys Knight and the Pips
8. Shaggy, Just One Lifetime, by Sting
9. Knee Socks, by Arctic Monkeys
10. Double Music, by John Cage and Lou Harrison
11. It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing), by Ella Fitzgerald
12. Guantanamera, by Playing For Change 3