Listen > Apocalypse Mixtape

Episode 4 - Julia Bland
Episode 4 - Julia Bland
April 18, 2020

In this episode of Phillip Barcio's Apocalypse Mixtape, Brooklyn based visual artist Julia Bland shares her thoughts on the word apocalypse, along with the songs she'd put on her apocalypse mixtape. After earning her MFA from Yale University, Julia studied traditional weaving in Morocco. Her abstract fiber works have been extensively exhibited, most recently in "Even thread [has] a speech" at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center in Sheboygan, WI. Julia is represented by Derek Eller Gallery in New York City.

Songs in this episode:

(Opening) Stormy, by The Meters
(Opening) Rhinestone Cowboy, by Glen Campbell
1. A Change Is Gonna Come, by Sam Cooke
2. Running Up This Hill (Make a Deal with God), by Kate Bush
3. God's Away On Business, by Tom Waits
4. This Woman's Work, by Maxwell
5. Lithium, by Nirvana
6. Make Me An Angel, by Bonnie Raitt
7. Be Humble, by Kendrick Lamar
8. I'll Fly Away, by Alison Kraus
9. Ain't got no, I got life, by Nina Simone